New Independent Agent Looking for Ways to Insert Self into Community

Aiapa

Hello,
I'm a new Independent Broker in an area where I have lived for about 5 years. I have been in insurance for 13 years as an insurance producer for another Agency, but I am now going out on my own. My soon to be former employer is an hour away from my home and new location, so I haven't entered my home area too much.
In the past I have tried to join professional groups near my hometown, but have been told that they are not in need of any other Insurance professionals.
My business will be about 75% commercial and 25% personal lines.
Also, my are does not have younger agents. Just 2 older, stable independents and about 6 captives in an area of 40,000 people.
I am not afraid to travel an hour to talk to people if it's a good prospect, but want to bolster local business too.
I will have an office on a well traveled road, will have a good, tech savvy website, business cards, and I'm not afraid to talk with people. But I need people to get to that website and talk to me directly. I need to get my name out there in an inexpensive, but productive way.
Can you please give some guidance on how to get my name out there in my community?
Thank you for your anticipated responses.

The fastest and most inexpensive way to get your name out there is to pick up the phone and dial!

Afraid of the phone? Start here!

I can appreciate that answer, but any way to get phone numbers for local people as anyone under 45 doesn't have a home phone anymore.
And leads are too expensive and unreliable.

I heard Facebook might be catching on....

Do a giveaway at a local store, with your name on the bowl that collects cards.

Start a BNI group. They can only have 1 P&C guy

Wear a shirt/hat with your logo on it, so people ask what you do

Send out 300 letters announcing the new gig

Door knock. Drop off cookies and collect x dates.