New to Insurance Industry

I will be getting my Health Ins. Lic. in North Carolina in February 2007. I currently work as a Physical Therapist in Raleigh.
- Can you start in this industry working part-time?
- What companies offer a good core for learning?
- What companies to stay away from/scams?

Recently took the State Farm Career Profile+ by LIMRA. (It is to be an indicator if will be successful in owning an Agency). Is anybody familiar with this test. They either give you an A-Acceptable or N-unacceptable, I received an N-unacceptable. Meaning I can not apply for Agency for 1 year with State Farm.
- Has anybody taken this test?
- Any idea on how to "pass", what are they looking for in being a success?

Thanks.

Join a "career" shop to learn the basics. Even if you end up with AFLAC, Colonial, American Income you at least will get some basic training and an idea if you are suited for this business.

By staying on the periphery, offering ancillary products you wont do too much damage to those who buy from you.

It really is too bad that Mutual of Omaha is no longer in the business. They had one of the best training grounds for new agents.

somarco said:
Join a "career" shop to learn the basics. Even if you end up with AFLAC, Colonial,

I don't know about AFLAC but Colonial is not captive. They have two appointment structures. One is an 'agent' agreement that is rather restrictive in it's non-compete clause but not captive. The other is their 'broker' agreement which I signed which says nothing about selling competing products, etc. They know that I am appointed by other (health) carriers and that I will continue to sell those products in addition to Colonial's workplace supps (which are sometimes called "mini-meds" but from what I understand... really aren't.)

What IS the definition of 'mini-meds' as opposed to workplace "voluntary benefits"?

Al

mikespine said: