New State Farm Agent

BShem08

Been lurking around here a lot recently so I thought I'd reach out for a little help.

I have been working for State Farm for almost 2 years now. I just this past week accepted an agency position which I am extremely excited and ready for.

Ive looking for some advice that isn't just from someone with a State Farm mentality. I do very well with P&C, but my life&health numbers are lagging a little. Any advice?

Last edited:
Watch and study this series of Van Mueller presentation to State Farm reps. There's 8 of them.

Last edited by a moderator:
Thank you. I'm currently watching them as I type. I appreciate your time.

I see some State Farm negativity on some threads. Not the company itself, but the structure they have in place for their agents. I do have a vast knowledge of State Farm and insurance itself,but I really only talk to Staye Farm employees. I haven't gotten a diversity of opinion until I found this site. Anything I should be concerned with?

Would going the independent route be a more prudent decision?

I'm not in P&C, but my understanding is that to truly be independent, you must have experience. Might as well get it at State Farm since you're already there. I don't know what 'clusters' or anyone else looks for to determine 'experience', but it's needed so you can 'bind coverage' or something. Again, I'm not in P&C, but you need experience to be an independent P&C agent.

I am an independent agent and have been for years. I have direct appointments with many carriers and it works.
I was captive prior to becoming independent. Captive has its niche but independent is gaining market and I feel will continue to grow as captives shrink.