Pensions and Annuities

darnardo

Expert
pensions are just annuities that are partially funded by an employer correct?

Are pensions and annuities grouped together? Are they listed as life insurance?

I notice that some research lists annuities as life insurance and others list them seperately.

I read on one article "pension annuities" so...that's just a "pension" correct?

Damn this terminoligy is killing me

To be a market analyst for a life insurer, you certainly ask some of the most basic questions. Come clean, what is the real story?

To be a market analyst for a life insurer, you certainly ask some of the most basic questions. Come clean, what is the real story?

The real story? You seem more interested in me than the contents of my queiry.

The real story is I am an associate market researcher for a major insurer. In the business world associate means new employee. I give a fresh perspective and present new ideas to the company as well as comment on the viability of ongoing projects. Hope that satisfies your curiosity.

Since my question is so basic you care to give an answer?

pensions are just annuities that are partially funded by an employer correct?

Are pensions and annuities grouped together? Are they listed as life insurance?

I notice that some research lists annuities as life insurance and others list them seperately.

I read on one article "pension annuities" so...that's just a "pension" correct?

Damn this terminoligy is killing me

Under a broad definition a pension plan can be any employer sponsored third party administered retirement plan.