Priorities for a New Agent Starting Out

ColdSlam49

Im now precontract at a big insurance company and have not and probably will not recieve any real product or sales training, with little to no support(could be the office i chose). I've decided to be proactive and self start and take in all the resources I can to learn fast.

But the only question is what is the best course of action? Should i hit the phone boiler room style again, except this time to set f2f meetings?

Last edited:
Had my L&H less than a month and very excited but also very scared of failure. I worked in a sweat shop environment for a year prior trying to sell stocks over the phone(key word trying). As a result, i have very little sales experience aside from dialing a phone 12 hours a day, reading from a script word for word until the other person hungup. I decided to leave that environment to avoid any blemishes on my securities license and use the excuse of being a naive college grad

Im now precontract at a big insurance company and have not and probably will not recieve any real product or sales training, with little to no support(could be the office i chose). I've decided to be proactive and self start and take in all the resources I can to learn fast.

But the only question is what is the best course of action? Should i hit the phone boiler room style again, except this time to set f2f meetings?

What line of insurance are you looking at selling?

What "big insurance company" did you decide to join?

What line of insurance are you looking at selling?

What "big insurance company" did you decide to join?

Ultimately after interviewing with a few, I decided on MassMutual because their products could be brokered, which is a big reason for me in case I leave(ideally I won't but can't tell the future). The next big reason is that they seemed to be the most open to investments. These factors were important to me, enough to overlook the lack of guidance.