Question About Captive Agents

718_Pete_813

I'm a new agent and a local agency is hiring for captive agents. They told me there's no salary, but I thought captive agents are paid salary plus a small commission. Am I wrong?

The only good thing I like about this agency so far is that they provide free exclusive leads, don't have to pay to get appointed, and no E&O insurance on my end. 17% commission 1st year, 8% 2nd, 5% 3rd, and 3% 4th & beyond. Is this a decent deal they're offering?

Thanks in advance for your feedback.

I'm a new agent and a local agency is hiring for captive agents. They told me there's no salary, but I thought captive agents are paid salary plus a small commission. Am I wrong?

The only good thing I like about this agency so far is that they provide free exclusive leads, don't have to pay to get appointed, and no E&O insurance on my end. 17% commission 1st year, 8% 2nd, 5% 3rd, and 3% 4th & beyond. Is this a decent deal they're offering?

Thanks in advance for your feedback.

You could not stay in business with those numbers.
If you sell $1000 a week in premium you would make what? $170

How much would you have to do in premium to stay alive?

This is a really bad deal.

Smells like a BCBS FL agency?

Here's the deal: they'll take anybody who has a license and can fog a mirror. They don't have much to lose, there's really no commitment on their part. You write some business, eventually starve and leave, and they keep the business.

If you're looking for a "salary" - you're in the wrong business. The people that are successful have an "owner" mentality, not an "employee" mentality.

The only good thing I like about this agency so far is that they provide free exclusive leads, don't have to pay to get appointed, and no E&O insurance on my end.

There are no "free" leads.