Ready for Independent Opportunity

Ok so here is the quick run down:
I have been a captive agent since 2000 in a small town of 12,000 in Arizona. Book size about 450,000 in premium. Sucks for this many years I agree. I have certainly lost fair share due to such tight underwriting, etc. It is time to become an independent agency if I can swing it! I own everything it takes to run an agency already. Have location, etc. I do not have lots of money in bank. I want some real advice on how to go about going independent and best way to go about it. Is it feasible? How do I get signed up with companies and determine commissions, etc. I lose my entire book the day I leave the captive company so need to make money quickly. I have seen all over internet where you can be under an organization such as smart choice and so on but know nothing about whether this is good to do. I do not want anyone to take part of my commissions again, I want to own the book I work so hard to build, I want to have choices for prospects and clients! Please advise! All appreciated!