Should lawyer be used for large claim?

Albert88

Hello everyone.

I have a client who had a robbery at his house last night, and he's asking me if he should use a lawyer to assisting him in claiming a loss that is over $100,000 with items endorsed on his policy. He's already made a police report. Is my client going too far by wanting a lawyer to handle the claim or is it worth him paying a couple thousand dollars for the legal assistance.

I have no personal experience with this but a friend of mine was robbed a few years back - not $100K worth of claims however it was an uphill battle with the insurance company.

They did not fight him on items like his DVD player and laptop. They did fight him on some of his valuables - demanding proof they existed - receipts, photos or video.

In fact, based on that experience we have a video detailing all of our valuable possessions. The "very" valuable items - like a wedding ring or family heirlooms you probably need a rider.

That's probably overkill at this point.

Was it a robbery or burglary?

Did he have scheduled items on his HO policy or just a blanket endorsement?

Does he have documentation (receipts, video, etc.) of the items he claims were stolen?

I would suggest that the client retain a Professional Adjuster Service. They are knowledgable of the process and precedures but work as an advocate of the insured.

The first thing that comes to mind when an insured had a loss and immediately wanted atty representation would be that of concern... Why does he so quickly need that cover...? Maybe there is a reason; but that is just my suspicious nature.

Here is a link to a Prof Adjuster who advocates for insured's interest:

Adjusters Group, LLC - Professional Public Insurance Adjusters for the Insured

What a great advertisement that was.

Seriously , here is my 2 cents...

Isn't the agent supposed to help the client file a claim? Doesn't the client pay money for certain property insured?