Starting Scratch Independent Agency

bliss171

Expert
Hi all,

I am a 6 or 7 year lurker, but have never posted before today. I would like to solicit advice from the wealth of knowledge that I know is active on this site. I have been with a captive company for nearly 9 years. I started with absolutely no knowledge of the insurance business when I took a nearly scratch book with my current company. I have since been highly successful with them (by their standards). In the time I have been with my company I have made it a point to become an expert on my product lines, and with the industry as a whole. I had a high school education when I started, and while running my agency I earned my Undergrad, MBA, and 4 insurance designations, including the CLU and CPCU. My long term goal has always been to go independent. This desire has been stronger than ever in my current market where I am 30-40% higher than 80% of the market. I am very good at creating value and closing sales. I do not need help or advice in this area. When you are constantly closing sales where you are higher on premium, you become very good at adding value and increasing coverages to create that value. However, I am so very tired of having to work 3x as hard to close 40% of the sales that many independents enjoy. Additionally, I want ownership equity in my agency, and be able to honestly say that I am representing the best interests of the company, including price, value and respectable carriers.