State Farm Interview & Offer

lev0711

Hi everyone! Another newbie here!

About 3 hours ago I complete a phone interview with a State Farm agent and was offered a second (panel) interview at the end of the week. The position is Insurance and Financial Services- Agent Team Member.

1. I asked her about obtaining my licenses and if I would need to do that before I could start. She said that some agents require that, but she does not. She said that I would go to class and then come into the office to study until I was ready to take the exam, as well as, receive SF training. She also said the my first check would be 'held' and I would sign a 3 year agreement. Should I leave before the 3 years is over, that pay will be prorated.

I am still a little stumped by the answer. I will be sure to ask for clarification on everything at the next interview, but can anyone offer insight on this process?

2. She asked what my pay was. I make 34k + commission + full benefits. She asked how I would feel about taking a 10k cut. I assume that the base pay is 24k (yes, I'm a math wiz!) + commission. Is that the avg. Team Member salary? And how much should I expect to make in commissions within the first 6mo.? 1 year?

3. Any advice my upcoming panel interview?

Thanks!

Because of the 3 year commitment, you should really consider if you want to make insurance a career. The agent is basically locking you down in exchange for training and licensing. I don't think the 3 year commitment should be implemented but ive heard state farm has a good training program