Taking in a Business Partner... Blessing or CURSE???!!!??

MattKnowledge

Here is the back drop: I have a total of 5 years experience. 1st year and a half in the biz I was strictly personal lines P&C with an Independent agency. Being a rookie I was spending more on marketing that I was making from commissions so I hit the road for Greener pastures. The next 3 1/2 years I was a producer in a StateFarm agency. Life, Health, P&C, small commercial accounts, blah blah. I went through the state farm Aspirant program and was approved to open my own office but something never felt right... (whole other topic). I built a business plan around being an Independent agency owner and acquired 3 direct appointments (personal lines only). The entire time people were saying I was crazy and I kept smiling.
Now to the point... Someone recently came to me wanting to come on board but only if they get 50% ownership. My agency has been open and producing for 3 months. It is just me. The book size just hit 100K. I have known this person professionally since my first year in the biz and he has always been supportive and helpful. I trust him but remain aware of human nature. If he walks from his current captive role he looses out on a book "payout" since he would break his non-compete.

My thinking is that with two of us there will be a synergy aspect and that my personal production will increase. Also, we may be able to secure another appointment quicker and add Life & commercial to our portfolio. The agency's name will gain recognition quicker in our community and we will hit profit sharing sooner. What I produce I keep 100% commishion including renewal and visa-versa. Once profit sharing is reached we will split on prorated basis.

Eventually we plan to split the costs of hiring and training additional producers and then split the revenue 50/50 that comes from their production and renewals.