Tax Time and Reporting Income Question

supersupps

Guru
This is my first time doing taxes as an agent. I have 2 friends that have very different opinions on reporting income.. One friend says that if you get no 1099 ( less than $600 ) then you don't report it. The other friend says to report all because if you get audited they go thru your checking accounts etc to see your income. What are you doing?

I bet you will get 1099 even if it is below the $600. Most insurers just 1099 everyone as a part of their business. They want to be able to show all expenses.

I bet you will get 1099 even if it is below the $600. Most insurers just 1099 everyone as a part of their business. They want to be able to show all expenses.

I have many times not recieved 1099s from Carriers that I have done less than $600 in business for....My take is that you are supposed to report your income and pay taxes on that income...Yes a 1099 is helpful in reporting your taxes but like many other things with the IRS you are ultimatly responsible.

You should receive a 1099 no matter if you made a dollar or a hundred thousand. If you don't you can call the company and request a copy of your 1099. Also you do want to report it. It's reported to the IRS and the Franchise Tax Board under your SSN, TIN or EIN.

What do with taxes?
Not a hard question, everything is a write off. A lot of people will say this will get you audited. Not likely. If your worried about being audited incorporate and use an S Corporation. These are the least audited type of corporation and less so then large money makers that are self employed.

Your then a W2 employee instead of a 1099, your company is the tax shelter. Plus as a principal of the corporation you can make a defined benefit plan and literally suck hundreds of thousands out and there all tax deductiable. In CA in a 32% federal tax bracket a contribution to a defined benefit is a savings of 42%