What is Your Take on Usage-based Auto Insurance...

sam816

Super Genius
100+ Post Club
...either as an agent or as a consumer?

I received a quote from a major (captive) carrier that is very competitive. I was also told that based on my driving behavior which will be monitored by an on-board tracking device, my rate could go either higher or lower within a pre-set range.

I have read this is the future of auto insurance.

What has been your experience with this? can one actually save money? should the customer be concerned with privacy issues, etc.?

TIA.

I am assuming you are referring to the "snapshot" device. I am a snapshot authorized agent and from what I have been told the device is not used for tracking. Only for driving behavior (speed, braking and time of day vehicle is most often used). Also the device cannot make your premium increase due to the behavior only decrease if results are positive.

I am assuming you are referring to the "snapshot" device. I am a snapshot authorized agent and from what I have been told the device is not used for tracking. Only for driving behavior (speed, braking and time of day vehicle is most often used). Also the device cannot make your premium increase due to the behavior only decrease if results are positive.

This is pretty much a comical statement. "Can not make your premium increase". If progressive notices an unsafe driver they can easily increase your rate at renewal and call it a "rate adjustment". This is by losing a discount here or there or whatever they decide to come up with.

As stated.. this is what Progressive tells their agents and customer's. The fine print on their infinite commercials will state otherwise. I am by no means a die hard "Progressive or nothing" agent. Simply giving information on the device.