When Asked "What Company You Are With"

0b1kanobee

Guru
1000 Post Club
I have had the question asked "what company are you with" several times and I really haven't had a good answer for them, at least what I thought was the best answer I could give a prospect and it is mainly because I am an independent agent and not really associated with any agency or one single carrier. I guess the 'best' answer I could give them would be an agency name IMO but I dunno.

I usually respond with "I'm an independent agent and I represent several companies. This allows me the freedom and flexibility to offer what I think are the best products and together we can make intelligent decisions without being locked into one company or one choice." I have thought about then asking the prospect right then, "do you like the idea of having choices"? (I imagine they would say yes in which I can start moving forward also giving me control of the conversation).

Anyway, I still seem to get folks who insist upon knowing what company I am with, usually it is some secretary/gate keeper who is probably writing on a message paper. Sometimes it is someone I'm calling because I was referred to them and they were told I would be calling.

So having no company name or agency name I sorta feel this is a problem perhaps. I also do not have a website. I'm not looking for any "because that is the feeling I'm having I'm conscientiously projecting this image" stuff either. Another words because I believe it to be true it is. This is actually a problem and I see it becoming a bigger one when I start prospecting to a greater extent.

So is anyone else running into this? Did anyone solve this by implementing a company name or adding a website? Maybe I'm just :goofy:

One guy I know has an agency name on some fliers he made up and I asked him about it. He said he just made it up, that he didn't actually have an agency name. :no:

"I represent companies like..." and then I name off a few of the major names.