Is It Worth It to Become a Broker?

Mstella

Hello everyone,

I came across this site and breathed a sigh of relief. I need advice. I am 52 with a 25 year career in Payroll, Benefits and HR administration. I also have 7 years of comission sales experience from my youth working in retail. I live in Las Vegas, NV and have been unemployed since 2010. I am getting headhunted by NY Life, State Farm, Farmers and AIG to become a broker. My mother is an RN so I also have the medical side of the business knowlege as well. I have extensive 401(K) experience and can completely pull apart a plan from inception and make it whole. On the personal side I am a cancer survivor and have worked with employees who used Colonial plans for cancer. My sister passed in 2010 from cancer with no will or insurance outside of her work medical insurance. This left my mom and I in limbo and debt for the 3 years it took CA probate to finish her estate.

I am now considering changing careers as I cannot find a basic "generalist" job without a degree. Here in NV I am not sure if getting my license is a good move as I dont have any friends to fulfill the 150 - 200 contacts. I have experience and know that helping others avoid what I personally have endured would be fulfilling. I am concerned about the availability of business and income. Classes start in 2 weeks for L&H liscensing.

Any and all advice is welcome as this is a huge decision and I have been burned by scams. I need an income quickly as I have none. Is this a career I can retire in? Can anyone please give me some advice?

Thank you,

Monica