Young Insurance Professional In The Midst Of A Career Crisis

Pir8guy

First off let me say that I have been visiting this site for a long time and I have always been amazed at the plethora of information available. Plus, everyone seems to be very accommodating of and very receptive to new members. I made the decision to join because I am in the middle of a dilemma.

I am aware of the importance of knowing someone's background so I'll lay-out mine.

I am a young insurance professional who is a recent business school graduate with a concentration in risk management & insurance. I currently work as a commercial lines underwriter with a mid-size brokerage in North Carolina.

While I enjoy underwriting and have learned a lot in my current position, I can't help but feel that my talents will be better utilized as an insurance agent. I have been in my current position about 7 months and have obtained my North Carolina P & C license.

I currently have connections with a large regional carrier (NC Farm Bureau) and am very interested in working as an agent. My question to everyone is should I stay in my current position or strike out and hit the ground running as an agent?

I am open to comments, advice and even criticism. I am looking forward to contributing to this forum and thank you guys in advance for your input.

You have to follow your dreams. If you feel that you should be an agent, then go for it.

Make sure that you have a specific plan and enough savings before you leave your current job. It can take a while to build a book of business and earn a reasonable income.

I feel the exact same way. I am currently enrolled at Appalachian State for RMI as a first semester transfer student. I thought about pursuing a career in underwriting but the agency game is hard to beat. I'm a agency brat so that's where I got my start. I worked there as a independent agent for a year and my father convinced me to Boone and get a degree in it.