Individual Health Insurance Marketing

Crabcake Johnny

Guru
5000 Post Club
Maryland
Here's some marketing 101 for health insurance.

1) B to B
I attatched the flyer I use. Simply print them up and hit small businesses. The pitch is simple "Hi, I'm <your> and I'm an independent agent. I'm offering free quotes on affordable health insurance plans available through <insert> Do you have your own coverage or group? Look for a 5% response - for every 20 businesses you walk into it's one lead.

2) Cold call telemarketing
Buy a list for a variety of internet sources like USA data and start calling: "Hi, I'm John Petrowski from the Health Solutions Agency. I'm letting business owners like yourself know about a variety of affordable health insurance plans through companies like Aetna, Time, United Healthcare and Blue Cross. Do you have your own coverage or group? Look for a 2% to 3% response.

3) Shared internet leads
You can buy leads from $6 to 15% a pop with $8 being the standard price. Look to close 1 out of 15 if you're new. If you're looking for 4 to 5 deals per week you'll need at least $500 per week. You'll also need that every week for at least a month before commission roll in. Since you'll be competiting with seasoned agents you'll really need to be on your game for this method to work.

4) Hire a telemarketer
Put an ad out on Craigslist and hire an in-house telemarketer. Have her/him come over to your place, pay about $12 per hour flat and about 4 hours per day of calls should do it. That should generate 8 solid leads and a deal a day.

MARKETING THAT SOUNDS COOL BUT DOESN'T WORK

1) Postcard mailers
Expensive and low return. 40 cents a pop and mail 1,000 at a cost of $400. Return is .05% or 5 leads. That's $80 a lead and you might not close any of those 5 leads. Or you might close one but it's a low individual premium that doesn't even earn you $400 in commish.

2) Ads in local publications