Newbie- Direct Appointments VS. GA

Agent-California

Hi-I'm new to the Ins industry but not to sales. I am focusing on Health Ins. as an independent agent. I am wondering if I can get some feedback from the experienced independent agents here regarding getting appointments with /contracting through a GA vs obtaining direct appointments.

With the GA I am considering, I would not be a captive agent. The GA is not local to me so I would not have their physical office to use. They offer product training, support and access to carriers. They seem legitimate, straight forward, responsive and helpful. From my research I would be accepting a lower commission % through the GA vs going direct to the carriers. Given my lack of experience I am thinking it seems like a fair trade. However if I can determine that the access to carriers is something that I could obtain on my own & also obtain the product training(information) and support through the carriers themselves. This could change my opinion.

So specifically my questions are:

In CA what if any difficulty might I have in getting appointed directly with any carriers given my inexperience or other factors?
Aetna
Blue Cross/Anthem
Blue Shield
Kaiser
Pacific Care
Assurant.
Health net
Any other major players I am missing?
Which if any would have production quotas?

2) Will the carriers typically be willing to assist me with questions I have? Do they assign an Account Executive to their agents to assist or is someone else available for help? Are they going to be upset to work with someone green or will they typically be patient and helpful?

3) Looking at the carrier websites it seems like most/all of the carriers provide a lot of info and training themselves. Shouldn't that be enough to get me going? Wouldn't the minimize if not replace the need for the GA's training / support

4) If I do go with a GA initially and than later try to go direct with a carrier. Will this have any adverse affect on me?