Can People Start Going to the Dr. Even if They Have Not Received Their Member ID Cards?

cynthia

Can people start going to the Dr. even if they have not received their member ID cards?

I have clients who are calling me because they have not received their member ID cards but they want to start going to the Dr. after Jan 1st. I am trying to call Blue Shield but have been on hold for almost 3 hours.

Covered CA said people can have coverage by the 1st of Jan if the application was submitted by the deadline. So if people pay their premiums can they go to the Dr. even if they have not received their member ID cards?

Coverage is coverage. They may be treated as a cash paying patient by the Dr, and then have to submit a claim to insurance company for reimbursement.

People can even go to the doctor without insurance if the doctor allows. But given the clusterf*ck this turned out to be if I was a doctor I'd require cash up front.

If you clients have paid for coverage then they should have a card shortly. But most haven't paid so why would they get an ID card.

Rick

Most of my clients' doctors are telling them they need their new ID number before they can come to their scheduled January appointments. With Blue Shield we don't have the new ID numbers yet for everyone and the hold time is well over 1 hour now.

This tidbit from Anthem is really too funny

New Anthem Blue Cross members who have applied through Covered CA will be receiving a letter with the following option to pay their premium by the 10th of January.

*PLEASE DO NOT HAVE YOUR MEMBERS GO TO URL LINK BELOW UNTIL AFTER THEY RECEIVE THEIR LETTER WITH THEIR APPLICATION ID #

So they have to pay their Anthem premium to get their new ID number but can't pay the Anthem premium until they get the "Application ID #" which then allows them to pay the premium and finally get the ID number.

For $18 or 4%, really? :nah: