Paid on "Incurred" Basis Only

misterblue

Hi All

Newbie here... My homeowners insurance has been giving me a big hassle as a result of HAIL DAMAGE from the spring. They were basically going to pay me for replacing my aluminum siding ,only the 1 side of the house which sustained damage. It has since been proven that the same color/style siding cannot be found, and the company is NOW willing to pay for the entire 4 sides of the house to be replaced. However, they will only pay for the remaining 3 sides on an "incurred basis." That is, they will only pay once I have a signed contract with a contractor, thus proving that I will have the work done.

Is this a common practice for homeowners claims for the company only to pay on an INCURRED basis? Thank you so much for any help!

-Blue

Yes, very, very, very common.

They are only going to pay to replace it because due to a fluke (not damage) it has to be replaced. If the work isn't done, then there isn't a need to pay to have it done.

If the question really is, can they write me the check and I pocket the money, the answer is no.

Dan
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
Ooops, I meant to add, I know nothing about New York insurance law and how settlements occur in that State. I do know a thing or 2 about California insurance practices and my answer is based on California. I doubt New York is that much different on the reason the pay after contract is committed to though....

Dan

Last edited:
Seems pretty reasonable. If you don't get it fixed, then it must not be that big a deal to you.

sounds like you want the money and not the house fixed....

My question as an adjuster would be how was it proven that the siding was no longer available or could be matched if a contractor was not already involved?