Biggest Negative to IUL

kstein

Guru
1000 Post Club
I'm 30 and am looking at putting money into IUL. I'm also a licensed life agent, although I've never written IUL, mainly term and FE. I'm in health ins mainly

Does anyone have any thoughts on why you wouldn't use IUL as a retirement vehicle?

Always ask "compared to what?"

IUL compared to a 401(k)... IUL doesn't get a company match.

IUL compared to Whole Life insurance... well, WL salespeople are brainwashed to believe that IUL has an increasing cost of insurance. This comes from mutual insurance company training.

This is BS!

All permanent life insurance has similar internal costs. The difference with WL compared to UL, IUL, or even VUL... is that WL has a built-in rate of return and has stronger guarantees... as long as you pay the premiums. You'll notice that the only variation of WL illustrations are the projected dividends that aren't guaranteed in any given year either.

But since UL policies have flexible premiums, for consumer protection, you need to know the internal costs of insurance that need to be accounted for. Therefore, those costs are disclosed.

Just like going to your bank and asking for CD rates. There are costs, but they aren't disclosed because it's a set period of time and a guaranteed rate. This is similar to Whole Life.

However, a mutual fund has costs because it has a varying return (or even negative returns) therefore you need to know what can affect your returns. In the prospectus, mutual fund costs are disclosed. This is similar to UL, IUL, VUL in that there are many factors that can affect your insurance coverage, so you need to know what those factors are.

Guy Baker - The Box:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7WUQYdpSbzE