Need Access to Health Ins Carriers

Dianah

TX
Hi,
I have been licensed to sell health insurance for three years. I previously sold most of the major carriers through and Upline. I am no longer with that Upline and plan to be independent and selling from home. I'm new to the independence and am wondering if going through some kind of Marketing organization would be the best way to get contracts with the major carriers. Does anyone have an input? Thanks! :idea:

I'm sure this is different in some other states, but in Connecticut you can just contact the individual carriers and ask to be appointed.

A few have good agent liaisons that provide a lot of support, especially if you produce. Others just provide access to rates and supplies via their website but otherwise just let you sink or swim.

You should be able to get a list of the carriers and their contact information from your insurance department's websites.

With the Major companies for under 65 you can go direct;no upline needed. But most will not appoint you until you send a piece of business. So you fill out the appointment app, use you NPN number when doing an on exchange plan and then they will appoint you.

My advice, though, is to check out the exchange in the state you want to do business in and contact broker services for those carriers and ask about their process for appointment. Sometimes they take your app over the phone.

Hi Dianah,
What part of Texas are you in? I know a couple of places you can broker through. The broker will help with making sure you get paid on your deals. Depending on where you are at, there might be other opportunities for you. I know Blue Cross is paying 6%. Email me if you want some advice. I can steer you in the right direction depending what you are looking for. There are companies that do advances also but you get a lower %. I don't do the advances but I know agent friends that need it.
[email protected]

How did you know she was in Texas Noel?