Open Enrollment....???

John Siegal

Hi all,

I am a newly licensed agent and wanted to know about the Open Enrollment Period.

I had heard that it takes place in August...but then i saw it was also listed as being in October...

Does anyone have a webpage...or can someone answer questions regarding open enrollment for Individual Health Care?

-What are some of the criteria for getting someone an Open Enrollment Plan?

-When is it?

Thanks very much for your help....

Hi all,

I am a newly licensed agent and wanted to know about the Open Enrollment Period.

I had heard that it takes place in August...but then i saw it was also listed as being in October...

Does anyone have a webpage...or can someone answer questions regarding open enrollment for Individual Health Care?

-When is it?

"Open Enrollment" is a term used for people just turning 65 and going on Medicare or for someone who is already over 65 and taking Medicare Part B for the first time.

These people can be written "Open Enrollment" anytime during the year if you write a Medicare Supplement for them.

I would suggest that you do a whole lot more research and learn about the different MA plans as well as Medicare Supplement plans. There is a huge difference between them and to effectively guide your prospect to the plan that is right for them you will need to be an expert on both.

Your question only applies to Medicare Advantage Plans, HMO's PPO's and PFFS plans.

An exception may be being made for GM salaried employees who are losing their group health insurance. They may be able to sign up for an MA plan in October.

In what context are you applying open enrollment?

Usually in medical group coverage or retirement plans it is a window prior to the anniversary of the plan. For example if your group plan is renewing Jan 1, December is open enrollment.

Open enrollment for other situations has been explained.

In what context are you applying open enrollment?