Buying a P&C Book of Business

jmdriver

I have ten years of experience in insurance as an underwriter for both personal and commercial lines. I am planning on starting my own agency and would like to purchase a P&C book of business to start servicing and generating revenue rather quickly.
Of course I know it's not as easy as that. I assume that I would have to be appointed with all the carriers that the previous agent had written insurance with.
With only a business plan and no valid sales experience to speak of, I don't think I'm going to get too far.
Am I correct? If so, how would someone in my position go about purchasing a book of business? Would a good idea be to purchase it together with an agent who does have the experience to get the appointments?

Because I have seen so many underwriters jumping over to the retail side crash and burn, my friendly advice to you would be to find a good agency to work for as a producer, see if sales is right for you, fine tune your sales skills, then invest your hard earned dollars in your own agency.

Remember: underwriting is one thing. Selling is a different thing. It looks easy. But it isn't and that is why so many don't make it.

Good luck!

Thanks FLInsa, that's good advice. I have actually taken a sales course, and worked as a producer, and my last job as an underwriter was a production underwriter working on base + commission. The problem is only 20% of my total experience is in sales and not sales in the specific line I am planning to sell at my agency. I'm very aware of the differences between selling and underwriting and how difficult selling is. I know some solid sales people as well that would be willing to join me, I'm going to concentrate more on the marketing and administration side which is my speciality.
My question is specifically regarding acquiring a book of business with little to no sales experience, or more specifically what goes into buying a book of business?