How Big Does My Book of Business Need to Be?

astreeter

I have been an agent independent agent for about 5 months and I am starting to grow. My question is how big is big enough? Of course it depends on the product sold and the commission. I am selling Medicare sups, Medicare advantage, and some individual health, small business, dental, and will be offering life in the coming months. How many clients can one agent handle and still offer quality service? How many does it take to surpass the $100K mark? How large is your active book? and how what income bracket are you in? Thanks in advance for your info!!

A good goal to try to hit is $1,000,000 AP in 3 yrs. You know what your commish is, you can do the math...

I have been an agent independent agent for about 5 months and I am starting to grow. My question is how big is big enough? Of course it depends on the product sold and the commission. I am selling Medicare sups, Medicare advantage, and some individual health, small business, dental, and will be offering life in the coming months. How many clients can one agent handle and still offer quality service? How many does it take to surpass the $100K mark? How large is your active book? and how what income bracket are you in? Thanks in advance for your info!!

Very right about it depends on the product...Med Supp has very little service work....MA more so combine that will the first year and renewal year commissions and what does that tell you.

AS BIG as you can get it! And keep hiring people to deal with the service work...and you can go CRAZY like ME!

I believe a good goal should be 250 applications/policies a year for 2 to 5 years. Those should be balanced between 100 Life, 100 MS/MA, and 50 complimentary/incidental. Some advice I have received from top earners is stay away from Individual Health if you want big renewals.