Why Does a BOB Have Value?

Gulfman

Guru
100+ Post Club
Hi Friends,

I am fairly new to the business and one thing i never clearly understood is "WHY does a book of business have monetary value?

A book of business can disappear in a few months. (new agency can not have a good rapore with existing clients or blow it with existing book)

• -what factors go into pricing a book?
  • -a BOB is not tangible, its value can only be in the renewals and it so, what guarantee would the renewals actually be?

Can someone help me figure this out?

~Thanks

A book of business is valued by the amount of annual revenue it generates. Now that is the number before any bills are paid. That's not the premium amount but basically as you said the renewals. There are no guarantees but that's why it's easier to get money on a larger more established book than a new one. If you are looking to sell, the price is about 1.5 to 2 times the annual revenue and a larger one, say over 250k is worth more like 3x annual. You can't just walk into a local bank and get financed though you are better going thru groups that specialize in insurance lending like National Lending, Springtree etc

Hi Friends,

I am fairly new to the business and one thing i never clearly understood is "WHY does a book of business have monetary value?

A book of business can disappear in a few months. (new agency can not have a good rapore with existing clients or blow it with existing book)

• -what factors go into pricing a book?
  • -a BOB is not tangible, its value can only be in the renewals and it so, what guarantee would the renewals actually be?

Can someone help me figure this out?

~Thanks

You would have to intentionally piss people off to make a book of business disappear in a few months.

That is not the only factor, but it is a primary factor for book valuation.

Goodwill is another factor.
Goodwill