5 month cold streak

ABC

Guru
1000 Post Club
Well, I finally wrote some group paper after a 5 month cold spell. That is the longest I have gone without picking up new group clients in 8 years. I have another group that I am waiting on the check for that I should get today. So things are picking up.

Keep the momentum going! The tough part about the group market is the long delay from initial contact to commission check. For me 5-6 months is typical. The prospecting work you do today feeds the family in April.

Keep the momentum going! The tough part about the group market is the long delay from initial contact to commission check. For me 5-6 months is typical. The prospecting work you do today feeds the family in April.

I hear ya and thank you.

I usually write group paper every month. They are mostly small groups but they add up. You are correct about the sales cycle.

I'm very new in this business and my wife is giving me a bit of a hard time about long it is taking me to close a sale. My reply to her is that the voluntary business is not something you can rush. My paramount goal is to develop a relationship first, then educate and then try to close. Personally with vacations, normal business routines etc. I don't see how anyone can close a case in less than a couple of months.

Is my timeline normal or am I doing something wrong?

I ask for the agent of record at every single appointment, I need to get paid for my time, and don't have an issue asking for it. I give my prospects an added benefits of hiring me "today." Stating that I can look at the other several options with there current carrier while looking at competitor quotes, add service and do extra work like add on's, term's, claims etc. Basically my client just pays the bill I do everything else. I have AOR 7 clients in 4 months just by offering service!