Cold Calling Sales Cycle

Bitnis

Super Genius
100+ Post Club
I've decided cold calling business owners will be where I spend the majority of my time prospecting for now. I'm wondering what my options might look like for a sales cycle with the customer. From what I've read here business owners tend to be "stoic" until you have established some credibility. I'm a business owner and I completely agree with this. I'll take a call if someone has something of interest to me though.

I know some of you do online conferences and others do face to face meetings. My agent simply sends me quotes and plans in the mail and we've never met face to face in the last six or seven years. He's never once explained anything to me and I will not operate the way he does.

In my start up phase I'm kind of leaning towards doing it my agents way of sending out information and throwing as much mud at the wall as I can to see what sticks. How can I best use this old school way to gain new customers and do it better than my agent?

For example I read where John of IHIAA sends out a letter, then a call, then quotes, then another call, etc. He also said 70% of his new customers didn't know they were looking for health insurance so I like the throw mud at the wall approach for now.

How would you suggest I prospect like this while doing a much better job then my agent has done with me? I hope this makes sense. I'm looking for a basic system of cold calling and follow-up that seems to have worked for you or somebody you know. I'm not ready to do online presentations yet and I'm only a half time agent right now so I don't have time to do everything in person. The phone is where I feel I need to be right now.

Thanks

Don't make this more complicated than it needs to be. In reality, it's extremely simple. Call business owners and ask them if they are "frusterated with their health insurance premiums?"

If no, "thanks for your time, bye".
If yes, "can you tell me more about your situation?"