Cold Calling For Seminar

jcrowe85

I am wondering what the best script might be for getting individuals to attend my Retirement/Social Security seminar. Our VP of annuities is the gentlemen actually speaking at the event. It's about 30 to 45 minutes in length and includes free dinner and drinks. Here's my current script: "Hi Mr. Smith, you're not expecting my call, but I want to invite you to a retirement seminar I am hosting on the 29th of this month. My Vice President will be there talking about Retirement and Social Security. Is this something you might be interested in?" Obviously the most common answer is "no" or they hang up. I've called nearly 1000 individuals that are within close proximity to the event's restaurant. I am new to the industry, any help would be most appreciated.

Last edited:
Really tough way to fill a room. I have done this twice with very poor results. The problem isn't getting people to agree to come, the problem is getting them to show up. We even sent really nice "save the date" letters with tickets inside. We called everyone 24 hours in advance to remind them as well. I have filled rooms a bunch and the only way IMO is to use mailers and them RSVP you your phone #. I have gotten a room full by calling my client base but never had luck cold calling.

Hi Mrs. Jones, my name is crowe and I the reason that I am calling is to invite you to a social security workshop that we are hosting at the Mcdonalds resteraunt on Redbird lane. Would you like to come out and enjoy a meal on us, and learn more about some of the strategies that the Gov. workers at the social security office are prohibited from telling you that could cost you thousands of dollars in social security benefits?