So How Many Calls a Day Should I Make?

benseattle

Expert
I'm fairly new to the life insurance field although I did have success prospecting and selling voluntary benefits. Yes, I'm tapping my small warm market but my main emphasis is on exit strategies, DI and retirement planning for small companies. Therefore, I'm doing plenty of cold calling. But how much is enough?

VERY interesting article about a young Merrill Lynch broker who spends 30 hours a week on the phone, making 250 to 400 cold calls a day. Really? Is that even possible?

Read it here: Cold Calling Is Back

So my question to this forum is: how many do you make a day? What are your ratios to dials/appointments/sales? To be frank, my manager thinks that if I do 50 dials a day, then I'll be very successful.

Input please!

X till you get the result you are looking for. If someone says to make 50 calls do you quit at 50? It is not the number of calls, it is the results. I do not make many calls and my calls are long winded. I would be lucky to make 50 a week.

Use the numbers from this forum as a guide only. There are to many variables to match numbers. That and a lot of these guy and ladies are really good on the phone. Their results may not be your results.

>>how many do you make a day? What are your ratios to dials/appointments/sales?

My numbers are going to do nothing for you. These are my numbers. there are many like them but these are mine.

That's one of the reasons I would never be a stock broker.

50 isn't enough per day when you are just getting started, if that is your primary marketing approach.

That's one of the reasons why it's nice to diversify your approach. Can you really stay sane for long making 100 cold calls per day?

I think 50 is a good number as long as you are staying busy and productive during the remaining hours of the week.