Stop Calling Receptionists "Gatekeepers"!

njinsuranceguy

Super Genius
100+ Post Club
Calling a receptionist a gatekeeper had to come from someone who was trying to scare people so they would buy his/her sales course. Thats all I can think of.

A receptionist is a receptionist... thats it. She's not some scary guard holding a black iron key. Do you know what she is?.. she is a very nice person who is answering the phone and doing her job. And she can be your best friend.

At some point, some one made prospecting for business out to be this dark bad place. I have to think that someone selling a sales course needed it to be harder and scarier than it is so they had something to sell.

Look at prospecting for what it is... a way for you to generate business, find great customers and create the life you never thought you could have!

I'm sorry, but I have to disagree. Having worked as a "receptionist, gatekeeper" for over 9 years before coming to the insurance market as an agent, I confess that if you didn't convince me then you didn't get to the boss. It is a "receptionist's" job to man the gete, so to speak, and put telemarketers at bay before they get to the boss. If my employer were to have taken every telemarketing call we received (3-5 a day) that would have been a waste of his valueable time. And I have no problem with the term gatekeeper. In fact, it commands a level of respect for the multitude of receptionists out there today. By no means should you fear them. But you will not get by a "gatekeeper" without respecting their pivotal role in the company.