Telemarketing for Appointments - Legal in Florida?

Woods Rider

Expert
Hi all,

I'm a licensed Florida 2-20 agent and want to hire a telemarketer to set appointments for me selling GL and other business coverages.

I know the FL insurance statutes are pretty hardcore about anyone other than a licensed agent discussing insurance in this state.

Can anyone share with me their approach or pitch that they use to get appointments that will not be in violation of the statutes?

I was thinking along the lines of "Hi Mr Business owner. We've been talking to other businesses in your area and we are finding........... I would like to set an appointment with our agent....etc.

Thanks in advance!

Last edited:
I would make sure those business phone numbers are vetted and keep a record of where you sourced them. I'm in FL too, and a lot of small business operators down here list their cell phone as the business number. If you call that, you can run afoul of the TCPA rules - that'll set you back $1500 per call.

That being said, GL would be a tough pitch over the phone. Are you going after any type of businesses in particular? Are you trying to write this monoline? I don't know how well that would fly.

If I were you, I'd save the labor cost and buy leads. Call them yourself. As a consumer, I know I don't appreciate someone calling me to set an appointment for something I didn't request.

i would make sure those business phone numbers are vetted and keep a record of where you sourced them. I'm in fl too, and a lot of small business operators down here list their cell phone as the business number. If you call that, you can run afoul of the tcpa rules - that'll set you back $1500 per call.

That being said, gl would be a tough pitch over the phone. Are you going after any type of businesses in particular? Are you trying to write this monoline? I don't know how well that would fly.