Best Insurance Certifications

jrcarroll291

Hey all,

I am looking to get some certifications to advance my knowledge and credibility in the insurance industry, yet I am unsure of which ones to get. I am currently a broker at a small agency and plan on staying here for as long as possible as I believe it has the brightest future, however, I would like to boost my credibility from a corporate perspective just in case I ever need to make the jump to the corporate side (most likely as an underwriter). Basically, I am looking for which certifications carry the most weight in the corporate world of insurance. I have read a lot of forums on this topic, and the common consensus is that the certifications are meaningless from a sales perspective. Very few people actually know what those letters mean, and most people seem to believe they don't directly enhance your skills as an agent. That comes from trials, errors, and self-learning.. and I totally agree. Similar to the fact that a college degree doesn't necessarily contribute to an entrepreneur's success as a business owner. I simply think a cert would be great to put on a resume in the event I was ever hunting for a corporate job one day... I just want to prepare myself for any situation. (As well as gain more knowledge). So which ones do you guys feel are worth the time, money, and effort? I am hearing CPCU is the cream of the crop, but it is quite a commitment. I am ok with hard work and commitment obviously, but are there any other combinations of certs that I can get that require less time and money yet yield the same benefits? Thanks for all who take the time to reply!

I'd take a look at various credentials that are recognized by your state department of insurance as a substitute for pre-licensing training. These should help your "corporate resume":

This is in California as of 2009:
http://www.insurance.ca.gov/0200-industry/0110-whats-new/upload/NoticeLegislativeChanges2008.pdf

Nationally Recognized Designations