How Do You Guys Get Your Leads

dennis_davis

I'm new at this, and I also go to college. So while I'm trying to sell insurance I also have school to pay for. So I was wondering like what seems to be the best way to get leads, or so to say good leads.

This is far from an exhaustive list, but these are the methods that come to mind:

• Facebook ads
  • Google Adwords
  • SEO
  • Direct Mail
  • Telemarketing
  • Referrals
  • Cross selling
  • Door knocking
  • Email marketing
  • Seminars

I use most, but not all, of the above currently.

I think I only door knocked one or two days in my 31 years in the business. I have no plans to do it again, but other agents do it daily. Many make more money than I do.

You could make a good living with any of the above as your main source of leads.

I'm a big believer in finding a synergy between your marketing methods. In another words if you can get X ROI with SEO alone, what happens to X when you add direct mail? Does the cost of the mailings offset the increased sales or vice versa?

For a newb, I suggest that you get good at one method of generating leads, then after your ROI gets respectable, try adding a second one and see if your cost per acquisition goes up or down.

I send everyone who visits my website a letter in the mail. The cost of the letter is more than offset by the increased sales, but your mileage may vary.

Permission based email marketing is another thing I include in the mix. It is great if you like to write or are good at it. (I say "or", because if you like doing it getting good is just a matter of practice.)