Do I Want a CRM or AMS?

anaxagoras

I've heard the term CRM and AMS thrown around a lot, infact i've worked with sugarcrm in the past. I set it up for one of my clients, and messed around with it a little. Never looked into an AMS though.
Backstory:
My parents run a mom and pop independent insurance agency out of their house. Been doing it for about 10 years now and they have everything on paper. I'm trying to help them streamline their office. I work in IT and i'm life and health licensed in our state, and sell those products on the side. Mom and Pop sell life/health/Indemnity/annuities/P&C. The 3 of us combined have just shy of 3k clients, some with multiple products. Mom also does the office work, haphazardly with no real organization method. Sometimes they need to pull up old leads or apps due and it's always a multi day process trying to find it.

I've got them set up with google calendar for the synchronization to their android phones. We do a lot of medicare business and as a result we do a lot of house calls.

I've also set up Asterisk PBX to handle their office phones.

Question
Being that I work in IT I have a vision, and maybe it's overkill. Some sort of software, preferably web based that I can host locally. I want to be able to store all of a clients information on it. When they signed up, their birthday, address, phone #, etc. I want to be able to include attachments such as a copy of their app (usually this includes their SS# which is why i'd like to have it locally, or with a service that has adequate protection for this type of information) and any other relevant paper documents.

If a client calls from a phone number associated with their account that it will bring up who they are and what they have. Ideally this would integrate with Asterisk.

Something that will integrate with google calendar to make setting up the appointment a little easier. Why retype in the clients address in the appt window every single time if it's already in the system.