ITT: Rolling My Own Agency System (Apache/mysql/AJAX)

Okay, I have decided to have a go at building my own system from scratch.

I have been reading the reviews of the various systems available and the costs involved. We are a small agency and simply aren't interested in paying the fees required for a system that has many features we won't use.

I've been in the business for about a year and a half now. My father-in-law owns the agency; he has been here since 1985, mainly selling auto/home with very little heath, life, or commercial. It has worked well. My wife and I will inherit the business.

Before this, I worked in IT for over 10 years, and have been a geek for longer than that, so I have exposure to technology and a bit of programming on the side.

The long-term goals of the system are:

• Provide a customer database system
  • Include document storage, photo storage, notes
  • Data redundancy (at least two in-house servers with database replication and daily data backups, as well as an offsite backup)
  • Track payment activity and commissions
  • Be intuitive
  • Be secure
  • Scale with the business
  • Evolve into an agency intranet

The technologies involved (at first) will be:

As a proof-of-concept, I have taken some time over the past couple of weeks and put together a simple journal system. This is just a start.

Fullscreen%252520capture%2525205312011%252520101831%252520AM.jpg

I'll use this thread to show my progress as well as solicit feedback. Thanks for looking.

A nice, simple and intuitive interface.

One thing, Javascript has nothing to do with Java, itself. JQuery is javascript, so if you are using JQuery, you are, in essence, using javascript.

Good Luck.

A nice, simple and intuitive interface.

One thing, Javascript has nothing to do with Java, itself. JQuery is javascript, so if you are using JQuery, you are, in essence, using javascript.

Good Luck.