Where Should I Keep My Client Data and Notes?

Advisor06

Guru
100+ Post Club
I am concerned if I put too many notes and info in the database and decide to leave the next agent will have an easy time to call my clients since I would want to call them down the road.

I currently own all apple products incase you have any suggestions.

Last edited:
I am currently a captive insurance agent and my company has a database "ez data smart office" where all the policy holders info and notes are stored along with policy info.

I am concerned if I put too many notes and info in the database and decide to leave the next agent will have an easy time to call my clients since I would want to call them down the road.

I currently own all apple products incase you have any suggestions.

Do you keep a copy of the database? Can you take it with you?

Just thinking out loud.

Yes I can export the current database to excel and take it with me but if I continue to put data in the computer now it will stay for the next guy which he will have easy access to my client data.

Yes I can export the current database to excel and take it with me but if I continue to put data in the computer now it will stay for the next guy which he will have easy access to my client data.

Can you just put your notes on your laptop and not the main computer?

At the very least you should be keeping a copy for your own records. There are many programs out there that will allow you to do the same thing as your companies database and it will only take you an extra minute to jot the info down in your own files.

Now about not putting the notes in the companies database, I can understand how you feel however you are currently employed with this captive and if that is the companies SOP then you really should follow it.

Someone needs to learn about relationship selling versus just selling a policy.

If you learn to sell YOU... then you don't have to worry as much about "notes left behind".