Which Comes First: Online Marketing Plan ( SE0, PPC, Etc.) or Building Website ?

CALTCAgent

Guru
1000 Post Club
Disclaimer I am a technical novice, so this is confusing as heck to me. Just random thoughts on building a website.

Which comes first: Online marketing plan ( SE0, PPC, etc.) or building Website ?

Talking with several companies that build websites, they keep this mantra that everything starts with the site. They say build the site over and over and "they will come".

It seems to me the game plan needs to be established first. Where will you be targeting ( SEO, local or more broad, social media, etc.) before the website can be designed to optimize how the website is built ?

Everytime I get into the discussion about what my game plan for marketing should be they seem to,

1. Change the subject

2. Tell me to just build the site, then figure the marketing out later

3. Pay an SEO or PPC expert to come up with a game plan first

4. They offer SEO or PPC services. But no guarantee they can rank and that ranking takes months or years. They offer this as recurring fee after the site is built.

They tell me that the site must be optimized for the type of marketing I am doing. Then how can they build the site efficiently without that established ?

They counter that they will build the site, then they offer SEO or PPC services. But no guarantee they can rank and that ranking takes months or years.

I come back to, how can they build the site first, without knowing the the game plan and areas that will be targeted ?

Wouldn't the build depend on your game plan ?

I see site builds from $500 to thousands of dollars.

Is trial and error the best approach ?

Thanks!

Absolutely building the website. It is the landing page for all of your marketing. Including the ones you mentioned and more.