Did You Build Your Lead Generating Site, or Pay Someone to Do It?

Jib

Expert
AZ
I've been reading the forum for a few weeks now, and the tech/website stuff is still confusing - so I figured I'd ask a few questions :biggrin:

I've been selling insurance over the phone for close to 10 years- the last 2 years from a home office- but just went independant a couple months ago (life/health). The broker provides me a basic website, but I can't do much to add/improve it

My intial thought was to go somewhere like Hostgator and sign up for the $10 month hosting where you can build your own Wordpress site. After reading so many posts on these forums, I don't know whether to pay someone to design it, pay someone to design it and help with lead generation, or work on getting it done myself- then get help with generating traffic /leads

Even if the site only helps with a few sales per month, it would be worth it while I get my marketing and referral base up (I left a large agency who owned the business, so I'm starting from scratch). I'm finding out (as many on here have pointed out) after spending thousands on leads, that they mostly suck.

I'm hoping to narrow down which method to use, and aprx how many leads I may be able to generate within a few months time

Your insight is appreciated....

Every business should have a website, there is no excuse to not have one. That said, if you want it to generate organic search traffic, even getting a lead or two a month out of it is going to take a great deal of time and effort. If you have the time and inclination then building a wordpress site yourself with something like hostgator (I love them and I know many others that do as well) is a great option. I would have relatively low expectations of the leads it's going to generate from organic traffic. That said, if you promote it with referrals and networking it can also be a great tool.