What is Better: Template Based Vs. Build It for You Website

CALTCAgent

Guru
1000 Post Club
Hello,

I am asking this for an independent agent only.

I am a novice when it comes to websites. I am curoius which most people think is better, a template based website versus paying someone to do it all for you ?

Or maybe doing it all yourself ?

If so what software can allow a novice to build their own site and have it still look good and possibly easy changes ?

What I see:

Template based:

Not knowing what the template will allow before purchasing it. Not knowing how easy the changes are to make in the future. Often have a recurring monthly fee. Must fit what you do into a template that you communicate to a designer.

Build it for you:

Pros: Have a professional looking site. Somebody to make changes for you in the future.

Cons: More expensive. You must know what you want and need before it is built. Changes will cost in the future.

Build it yourself:

Pros: Do you know how. Time and effort. Less expensive.

Cons: Time and effort. Possibly not as good as if you paid someone.

Thoughts, ideas, suggestions ?

Lead generation:

Does any of the above ( template, build for you, build for yourself) have an impact on your potential for SEO or PPC marketing ?

As you have indicated there are advantages and pros to each. However there are some options that let you combine the pros of each. For example Insurance Website Builder provides you the ability to choose from a design library and have it fully customized to match your branding and agency message. Being designed exclusively for insurance it includes all of the forms and site features (such as mobile and schema markup) required to target today's online insurance consumer.