New to the Industry and Forum.

victor247

Expert
Hi guys. My name is Victor Tokarev. Graduated with a bachelors in accounting, did that for a year and decided to change my career path. Im currently an agent with New York Life but exploring options with different companies. I only have 4 months under my belt and it seems to be going well. Local Mass Mutual is trying to recruit me but im not sure if i want to do that. They are offering me a career contract which im trying to stay away from. My current mentor is with NYL, and a broker for Ohio National and Mass Mutual. Says that if he were to restart, it would be with ONL. So im looking at Ohio National right now. I'm looking for flexibility that NYL doesnt offer me. What would you guys do differently if you were to restart? Thanks guys!

Welcome to the forum!

As John Savage said "You can't unring a bell." Every experience you have adds to your overall collection of knowledge about this industry.

If I were to restart, I would realize that the company you are with is NOTHING. Good training with transferable skills is EVERYTHING. Once you have training... you can go anywhere and be as successful as you want.

What kind of flexibility are you looking for?

Hi guys. My name is Victor Tokarev. Graduated with a bachelors in accounting, did that for a year and decided to change my career path. Im currently an agent with New York Life but exploring options with different companies. I only have 4 months under my belt and it seems to be going well. Local Mass Mutual is trying to recruit me but im not sure if i want to do that. They are offering me a career contract which im trying to stay away from. My current mentor is with NYL, and a broker for Ohio National and Mass Mutual. Says that if he were to restart, it would be with ONL. So im looking at Ohio National right now. I'm looking for flexibility that NYL doesnt offer me. What would you guys do differently if you were to restart? Thanks guys!