Getting Appointments with Prospects For Life Insurance - Advice?

Mburns

Expert
Hello my fellow professionals,

I know this question gets thrown around a lot but I am looking to see if anyone has any experience with specifically trying to set appointments for life insurance.

I've been an intern at my company for 6 months, and just had my first month really dedicated to the field after graduating college. Managed to help protect 9 different families and 6 of them were people I'd never met before. All from referrals and solicitation.

My question to all you experts out there is how best to use the time I've got. I've been going for making at least two appointments every day and had good days and bad days. Sometimes I'll get 4, sometimes I'll get 0.

As far as my strategies go, I've been cold calling off Reference USA and business cards I find in restaurants (so many DNC numbers it makes my head spin), door to door knocking, canvassing business owners (rarely on those two, too damn hot outside here in Texas), writing handwritten notes to all my neighbors and existing clients, sending postcards and mailings, networking at least 3-4 times a week and I think that's it. I really love this job (long story but my second client ever found precursors to kidney failure and is able to treat it before it gets any worse) and I want to emulate successful people who help cover tons of lives.

My phone skills were really awful but after gritting my teeth on cold calling I feel much better about it. My favorite clients thus far are the closely held business owners, and I want to make that a target market.

To get to my question - what should I do with my prospecting time to get my 2 appointments every day? Should I buy a scrubbed list of residential and start calling that or should I start calling local businesses? Has anyone had any experience with that they'd like to share?

Thanks a ton in advance.
-Matt

Re: Getting Appointments with Prospects For Life Insurance - Advi