Got a 49 Year Old, 345lb 5'11" Male Doctor with No Life Insurance

sydney1108

I have a physician, male, 49 years old, 345lbs, 5'11", with no life insurance. His wife 47, also has none. Income around $200K. Agrees that he needs at least $800k in coverage. I have been selling Medicare and health for five years not much life? What direction would you go to meet his needs? Which companies? Which Plans?

Re: Got a 49 Year Old, 345lb 5'11" Male Doctor with No Life Insur

Other than he will be rated for weight, any life insurance company will do. My question is how was 800k determined? That is only 4 times his income. At his age most any company would insure him for 15 to 20 times his income. My question to your prospect would be "with your existing assets, liabilities, and cash flow, how much of your annual income do you WANT (not NEED) to provide for your family and for how long?

The type of policy is dependent on what other objectives you're trying to accomplish and the available premium. Are you taking premium from cash flow or are you helping him find the premium through other financial adjustments? The right amount of coverage comes first, the type of coverage comes second.

You also might want to consider bringing in an experienced life agent and split the case. Good luck

Last edited:

You also might want to consider bringing in an experienced life agent and split the case. Good luck

Do this, and both you and the doctor will benefit.

With his weight and age, if he doesn't already have other health problems, he will. Being a doctor, he knows this even if he won't admit it. You need to sell him as much convertible term as you can get the company to issue, with a disability waiver if you can. Use multiple companies if necessary to get the maximum death benefit you can. Then have the senior agent do the conversion talk now.