Help Me Understand My Policy!

pancaker

I'm a recent college grad and was recently handed a whole life insurance policy by my parents. They didn't seem to have a great understanding of its value and I certainly don't either, so I'm looking for some advice and my options before I speak with the insurance agent. Assume I have little understanding of what I've got here!

The policy is Northwestern Mutual 65-Life Whole Life Insurance. It was taken out more than 20 years ago. It's a pretty tiny policy but obviously has been growing for a long time. Not sure if I should cash it out or keep "investing."

Here are the details:

Basic Coverage: $25,000
Current Death Benefit: $38,000
Current Cash Value: $4,500
Annual Premium: $200

2014 Dividend/Cash Value Increase: 160/350
2013 Dividend/Cash Value Increase: 95/335
2012 Dividend/Cash Value Increase: 95/320

Would love to hear any thoughts!

Thanks.

Last edited:
I'm a recent college grad and was recently handed a whole life insurance policy by my parents. They didn't seem to have a great understanding of its value and I certainly don't either, so I'm looking for some advice and my options before I speak with the insurance agent. Assume I have little understanding of what I've got here!

The policy is Northwestern Mutual 65-Life Whole Life Insurance. It was taken out more than 20 years ago. It's a pretty tiny policy but obviously has been growing for a long time. Not sure if I should cash it out or keep "investing."

Here are the details:

Basic Coverage: $25,000
Current Death Benefit: $38,000
Current Cash Value: $4,500
Annual Premium: $200

2014 Dividend/Cash Value Increase: 160/350
2013 Dividend/Cash Value Increase: 95/335
2012 Dividend/Cash Value Increase: 95/320

Would love to hear any thoughts!

Thanks.