I Need to Generate Some Referrals

NewbieNewbie

Guru
100+ Post Club
I am looking to generate additional referrals. To give a bit of additional info; I am a captive agent, and I have about 1000 clients, mostly middle market (50k to 150k) a year. It is primarily term with some GUL in the mix. They are all sold over the phone, but I get maybe 2 to 3 referrals a year.

I know I am missing out on a huge amount of additional business. I would love some thoughts to ramp up referrals. I am considering soc, but any other ideas? Thanks in advance.

It's going to sound lame, but ask everyone you talk to whether or not you sell them something. Another thing you can do is add something to your signature line asking for them; you'd be shocked by how many people think they might be bothering you with referrals.

Good luck!

Last edited:
My opinion is that once you had 10 clients you should have started seeing referals. If not, you need to adjust how you close or whatever that is not working in your sales cycle. At 1000 clients you should have a database of 2000 to 3000 names, birthdays, and many wedding anniversaries. Just calling on these, should generate more than 3 referals a year.

One sales metric is how may referals you are consistently generating from each household. If you only focus number of leads bought versus number of sales you will miss out in the long run. If your new business is always leads, you will be hard pressed to increase case rate or average case size.

Now how do adjust your sales cycle to increase referals without messing up your cash flow. You have to take a look at the whole picture and figure out. I would start with the 3 referals you get every year. Ask the clients who refered you why, you will surprised to hear what they say about you.

Since you built this business by phone, why not call each of them on their birthdays.