Insurance Agents Marketing As "Financial Consultants" Etc.

BYSFG

Super Genius
100+ Post Club
I've been seeing more and more of these lately. How hard to the DOI/DOC crack down on these individuals?

Clearly its not a situation of "if you can't beat em, join em."

I'm a financial consultant. In fact, I'm a Chartered financial consultant (ChFC).

What's the problem? Losing too much business to a financial consultant?

There are a couple of states that do require a Series 65 registration in order to call yourself a financial consultant.

Why are you looking to government to solve this "problem"?

----------

BTW, if I set up a separate legal entity and proper agreements, I could charge planning fees for my services too - just not including any portfolio or securities advice without proper registrations.

I'm a financial consultant. In fact, I'm a Chartered financial consultant (ChFC).

What's the problem? Losing too much business to a financial consultant?

There are a couple of states that do require a Series 65 registration in order to call yourself a financial consultant.

Why are you looking to government to solve this "problem"?

----------

BTW, if I set up a separate legal entity and proper agreements, I could charge planning fees for my services too - just not including any portfolio or securities advice without proper registrations.

Im familiar with your designation. :)

No. I shouldn't give so much thought to it but seeing how as I'm planning to go down that path - getting designations etc., it just annoys me whenever I see an insurance agent market themselves as a "financial consultant" without proper designations/qualification/licenses etc. Even more when they sometimes use words like "investment" and everything goes back to insurance.

Not looking for the gov. to solve the "problem," just wondering how serious do they take it. I understand its in the state rules and regulation and may differ from state to state slightly.

Last edited: