Lost my 3 Biggest Cases this Week

paulmatthewm

I am devastated. I started in this industry last November and have written about 50 applications since then. 3 of them were large policies with monthly premiums at $1k, $500 and $300. They were all 10 pay WL. 2 of the guys were rated terribly and they didn't want anything to do with it. I tried telling them that this is when they need it most but they weren't interested, and the 3rd guy changed his mind and wasn't open to hearing any other options. I am a captive agent and I was counting on getting those commissions next month. I mean this is brutal and all the bad news happened in one week. I thought I was off to a good start but now I am seriously wondering if I belong in this job. Just looking to share my story and maybe get some input. Thanks.

I am devastated. I started in this industry last November and have written about 50 applications since then. 3 of them were large policies with monthly premiums at $1k, $500 and $300. They were all 10 pay WL. 2 of the guys were rated terribly and they didn't want anything to do with it. I tried telling them that this is when they need it most but they weren't interested, and the 3rd guy changed his mind and wasn't open to hearing any other options. I am a captive agent and I was counting on getting those commissions next month. I mean this is brutal and all the bad news happened in one week. I thought I was off to a good start but now I am seriously wondering if I belong in this job. Just looking to share my story and maybe get some input. Thanks.

Look on the bright side...no chargebacks.

That really sucks, but that's the way of this business. What you'll learn is to not count the money until it's in the bank. (And even then you have to be careful) Usually, 30% of your cases will be different than applied for. (Declined, rated, etc.) Unfortunately, they can clump together like they did for you. Just keep getting in front of more people and you'll be fine.