Need Help!! Just Starting, What to Expect!?!

Tresden

I have been reading a lot on these forums and honestly it is pretty discouraging. So I am reaching out to try to sift through what is and is not realistic by clarifying my concerns. I am 23 years old due to graduate next semester. I have a job offer with a subsidiary of MassMutual Life and it seems like a great opportunity (from the numbers they have given me). A bit about me: I have been in sales since I was a freshman in college and have proven to be quite good at it. I have been the top sales person for every job I have had at one time or another. That being said, I am considering accepting this position, all commission (which I am used to, but am not completely sure if it is a raw deal considering the industry) and moving forward. My concerns are these: Are the figures these guys are throwing at me realistic? Here are the figures:

10 years from now (assuming you follow their model) should be making upwards of 300K.
15 Years should have 250K residual and at least 200K in additional earnings annually.

These figures I'm sure are exaggerated to some extent and obviously based on best case scenario, top performance statistics, but if I cut those figures in half, that still seems like a pretty sweet gig. My skepticism is further fueled though by reading through this forum. People are responding to topics titled "How many reps make at least 40K a year?" with responses like "I have been in the business for 24 years and never seen anybody double that figure" or "I have been in the business 21 years and never made that much." Even the more promising of the responses still makes the 'opportunity' appear much more grim like "if you have been in the business for 2 years 40K should not be a problem. By my 5th year making 60K was not unattainable."