Over 150.000 insurance professionals and consumers come to the Insurance Forum every month. Click here to register for FREE

Go Back   Insurance Forums > Insurance Agents and Brokers Forum > Life Insurance Forum

Reply to Newbie in the Life Ins Business     
Old 07-07-2017, 11:32 PM   #1

State: hayyojo is an Insurance Agent from
Newbie in the Life Ins Business Newbie in the Life Ins Business
I am just getting started and wanted to see what the average commission rates are as I was told when you first get started with an agency its about 20% and takes several years to increase. Please share what companies you are with and the commission rates and how easy or hard it is to increase the commission rates. Thank you for all your help!

Not sure if it matters I am in Az.
------------------------------------
  Reply With Quote to Newbie in the Life Ins Business
Old 07-07-2017, 11:57 PM   #2
DHK
Guru
DHK on Newbie in the Life Ins Business

State: DHK is an Insurance Agent from California
DHK is a member of 5000 posts Super VIP club
Newbie in the Life Ins Business Re: Newbie in the Life Ins Business
The only places I've heard that start remotely that low... are the MLM insurance companies. They generally start out at about 25%, and by recruiting others and personal production, you can increase that to about 80% at the top end.

Insurance career agencies (New York Life, MassMutual, and others) are about 55% on the commissionable part of the premium.

Independent contracts often are about 80% - 120% depending on company, product, contract, etc.

20% sounds awfully low (generally speaking) without knowing more details about the product and company.
Old 07-08-2017, 11:58 AM   #3
Guru

State: jboussea is an Insurance Agent from Undisclosed Location
Could also be a call center.. like a select quote and intelli quote.. in that case it might be worth it since they get you all the leads and you're just on the phone selling.
Old 07-08-2017, 01:09 PM   #4