Targeting Realtors

agentinsouth

Guru
100+ Post Club
I have a lot of realtors as referral sources for my P&C business. I was thinking about targeting realtors for life insurance. Has anyone had any luck selling life insurance to realtors as their target market?

I was a Realtor for 3 years before getting into insurance. Most of them probably won't do business with you, a few will but it's not as many as I would have expected. I had several agents warn me that this would be the case but I was convinced that I would have better luck as so many of my friends are realtors. Most of them like to do all of their investments on their own through real estate and think that leaving their family 4 rental properties that cash flow and are 20% paid for is a better idea than having life insurance. Not sure how they're doing the math on that as most of their families couldn't get a loan to cover the remaining balance, especially not fast enough, but somehow they think this is just such a great option. The rest are much more broke than you would expect and can't afford to do anything and their policies lapse pretty predictably.

There's a few out there that will bite, but don't waste too much time on it. I'd almost say that you'll have more luck selling DI than life, but those are slim pickin's too. The ones that can afford it tend to have already bought it. The best you can do is to stay front-of-mind with them so when someone who couldn't afford it in the past has their business pick up you're right there.

I've had better luck with new home buyers that I just wrote a homeowner's policy on and cross-selling life for the purpose of mortgage protection. Still not great luck, but better.

If you have tons of realtors referring homeowner leads to you that's probably your most profitable approach.